Home » Archives by category » News » Politics (Page 8)

Annise Parker Re-elected Houston Mayor

HOUSTON: Houston Mayor Annise Parker has been elected to a third and final term as the leader of the nation’s fourth largest city.  Annise Parker got more than 57 percent of the votes. Parker was first elected in 2009. She won her second term in 2011. Term limits prevent Parker from running for a fourth […]

Councilman Harish Jajoo Honored

HOUSTON: Councilman Harish Jajoo was honored at the 2013 Statesman of the Year Banquet hosted by Texas Asian Republican Club (TARC) on Wednesday 23 October at Kim Son Restaurant, 10603 Bellaire Blvd., Houston. Councilman Jajoo represents District 4 on Sugar Land’s City Council.  Now in his second term, Harish had rolled up his sleeves from […]

HCC Trustee Neeta Sane Endorsed by Chronicle for Re-election

HOUSTON: Neeta Sane, who has been serving as a trustee of Houston Community College for the past six years, has received the endorsement of the Houston Chronicle for her re-election for HCC Trustee District VII.  Several other entities, public officials and community members have also given their backing and endorsement in support of Neeta’s re-election […]

Hindu Americans in Houston Celebrate a Decade of Advocacy

HOUSTON: Congressman Ami Bera (D-CA) joined over 200 Houstonians in celebrating the Hindu American Foundation’s (HAF) tenth anniversary of advocacy on Saturday, September 21 at the India House in Houston. The only Indian-American currently serving in Congress, Congressman Bera lauded the HAF for its important advocacy efforts on behalf of the community while urging the […]

India House Hosts Nikki Haley to a Roomful of Proud Admirers

By Jawahar Malhotra HOUSTON: This was the weekend, as sure as any sign of the electioneering season, when political candidates and elected officials seem to have flocked to the Bayou City to meet with community leaders, raise funds and speak their minds at eager audiences. California Congressman Ami Bera was in town for the Hindu […]

Ami Bera Gets Upfront and Personal Over a Sunday Brunch

By Jawahar Malhotra HOUSTON: For someone who was elected to the US Congress just eight months ago, Dr. Ami Bera is surprisingly easy going and approachable. He put the over three dozen people who came to hear him at ease with his openness on issues, charming them with his easy delivery and smile. “I am […]

IAPAC, SIMA Fundraiser for Parker Draws Out Many Motel Owners

By Jawahar Malhotra HOUSTON: With election season coming into the final six-week stretch, the Indo American Political Action Committee and the Small Independent Motel Owner’s Association (which includes 175 motel owners, mostly Indian, across the city) held a fundraiser for Mayor Anisse Parker who is seeking re-election to her last term. Close to 100 people […]

Annual Convention in Tampa Concludes with Narendra Modi Reaching Out to Indian Diaspora

TAMPA, FL: Overseas Friends of BJP (OFBJP) USA convened an annual convention in Tampa, during Friday, September 20, and Saturday, September 21,  at local India Cultural Center (ICC). Smriti Irani, BJP national Vice President inaugurated the convention on Friday and presided over the women and youth forum along with co-panelist Prodyut Bora, national executive member […]

Obama Nominates Puneet Talwar to Key State Dept. Post

Obama Nominates Puneet Talwar to Key State Dept. Post

By Indiawest United States: President Barack Obama Sept. 10 nominated Puneet Talwar to the position of assistant secretary for political-military affairs in the State Department. He currently serves as special assistant to the president and senior director for Iran, Iraq and the Gulf States on the White House National Security Staff, a post he has held […]

Governors Over the Years: From Stalwarts to “Courtiers”

Those were the good old days when the governors were men and women of letters and of unimpeachable integrity. Women like Sarojini Naidu, Vijayalakshmi Pandit and Padmaja Naidu performed their gubernatorial duties with much dignity. And great men like KM Munshi, Sir HP Mody, VV Giri, Sir Girja Shankar Bajpai, Dharam Vira and Govind Narain […]