Australia thrash India 4-0 to win Sultan Azlan Shah Cup


India suffered a 0-4 drubbing at the hands of world champions Australia to settle for a silver medal, their best finish in six years, in the 25th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup hockey tournament on Saturday.

This was Australia’s ninth title win as they continued their stranglehold over the tournament. India last won the tournament in 2010, their fifth title, when they were jointly declared winners with South Korea. In 2012 and 2015 they were the bronze medallists.

Thomas Craig and Matt Gohdes scored two goals each in open field play for Australia to overwhelm India after a stout defence in the first quarter had denied the world’s top-ranked team a good shot at the Indian citadel.

Australia took off though Craig’s field goals in the 25th and 35th minutes, but the Indians seemed to be tiring when Gohdes scored struck twice in the 43rd and 57th minutes.

Australia, who won all their seven matches in style, had thumped India 5-1 in the round-robin league encounter.

Click here for more…