Kashmir unrest: Hurriyat refuses to meet leaders of all-party delegation, lashes out at CM Mehbooba Mufti

Syed Ali Shah Geelani

After rejecting chief minister Mehbooba Mufti’s invitation for talks on Kahsmir issue, Hurriyat leaders Seyd Ali Shah Geelani and Mirwaiz Umar Farooq on Sunday refused to meet the leaders of all-party delegation. Four opposition MPs of all-party delegation broke away from the group and decided to reach out to separatists by meeting them separately.

CPI(M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, CPI leader D Raja, JD(U) leader Sharad Yadav and RJD’s Jay Prakash Narayan left the venue where the all-party delegation headed by Home Minister Rajnath Singh was meeting various groups and individuals and proceeded to meet Geelani at his residence where he is under house arrest. However, Geelani refused to oblige them.

“We have made our approach and outreach to all stakeholders including leaders of the Hurriyat. Hope this will lead to some sort of a forward momentum, in first restoring peace and normalcy and then proceeding towards a political dialogue and unconditional talks and then reaching out to some degree of a political settlement,” said Yechury.

Click here for more…