Raj Basavaraju Named ASIE 2015 President

Raj in

By Dinesh Shah, MBA, PE

HOUSTON: American Society of Indian Engineers and Architects known as ASIE is a Greater Houston Area based non-profit organization for engineers, architects, designers, and engineering technicians. ASIE provides a forum to assist its members in career advancement by providing opportunities for networking through continuing educational seminars, workshops and field trips. Every year, ASIE support engineering and science education by volunteering in Mathcounts competition, volunteering as judges during Science & Engineering Fair of Houston and giving out Awards to students in Junior, Ninth & Senior Divisions based on their projects. ASIE also awards scholarships every year to students pursuing undergraduate & graduate degrees in engineering programs from public universities in the Greater Houston Area.

The administration of ASIE organization consist of nine Board members and four Advisory Council members. This year five nominations were required for the board and two for the council, as the rest of them are continuing from 2014. Since all nomination received were equal to the elected positions available, the Election Officer Ashish Baga declared all seven nominees Elected Uncontested without any formal voting.

ASIE named Raj Basavaraju, MBA, PE, as President for the year 2015. He is a life member of ASIE since 2012 and has been playing an active role. He possesses a MS degree in engineering from Iowa State University since 2001 and MBA from University of Maryland in 2009. He works at RK & K as a Project Manager.

The 2015 ASIE Board comprise of Executive Committee include all continuing members of the board from 2014 are Raj Basavaraju – President, Naresh Kolli – Vice President, Sai Gowthami – Secretary, and Rajesh Tolikonda – Treasurer, and the rest of the Board of Directors are the newly elected members include Phoolkeshi Patel, Dinesh Shah, Madhu Kilambi, Chetan Vyas, and Hari Jaiswal. Under his   leadership, Raj has appointed various board members and members to several committees which include Membership, IT, Fundraising, Program, Public Relations, Scholarships, Student Member, Young Engineer, and Account Review Committee.

For the Advisory Council, Ravi Arora and Showri Nandagiri were newly elected, while Ram Gupta and Abraham (Roy) Joseph are continuing from last year.

“I am honored to be elected as President for 2015. We have had an excellent year including 20th Anniversary Gala under the leadership of Sekhar Ambadapudi as a 2014 President. I will try my level best to keep up the momentum. I would like to congratulate all the elected Board Members as well as Advisors, and with their support, I will bring ASIE to the next higher level.” said Raj Basavaraju.