Sania Mirza Named Indian Team Captain for 2016 Fed Cup


Sania Mirza has been named captain of the Indian team for the 2016 Fed Cup and it includes the country’s number one singles player Ankita Raina and national champion Prerna Bhambri.

World number one Sania Mirza was named captain of the Indian team for next year’s Fed Cup while two six-member squads were announced by the AITA selection panel for the South Asian Games.

The selection committee, headed by SP Misra, chose a four-member team for the Asia/Oceania Group I matches in Fed Cup, to be held in Hua Hin, Thailand from February 3 to 5. 

The other members of the team are country’s number one singles player Ankita Raina, national champion Prerna Bhambri and Prarthana Thombare. Karman Kaur Thandi has been named the Reserve player.

Under Sania’s leadership, India were promoted to Group I after doing well in season 2015 and they will strive to make it to the World Group II Play-offs.

The selectors also named a six-member men’s squad for the South Asian Games, to be held in Guwahati in February. Country’s number two singles player Saketh Myneni, Ramkumar Ramanathan, Sanam Singh, Vijay Sundar Prashanth, Purav Raja and Divij Sharan are in the squad.

Click here for more…