TCC Taped Ball Spring 2022 Championships: Powerstars Win, Gladiators Runners Up

HOUSTON: Powerstars won the third TCC Taped Ball championship defeating 8th time finalist Gladiators in the final of the Spring 2022 Premier tournament which is a once in year tournament for the best teams of TCC Taped Ball.

Winners: Powerstars

Gladiators won the toss and elected to bat. It was a steady start for the first two overs before Karthik and Eklavya did the damage in the 3rd and 4th over to reduce Gladiators to 20/2 in 4 overs to mark the end of the powerplay. Then the duo of Dylan and Kaly, who bowled exceptionally well in playoffs continued the bowling. Gladiators played the bowlers with caution and steadily marched towards a decent total of 58/2 in 10 overs. Emad Badri ( 46 ) scored some quick runs but regular wickets at other end had Gladiators struggling at 94/5 in 15 overs. Karthik’s strategic bowling changes ensured there were regular wickets taken and restricted Gladiators for 127 for 9. Karthik finished with 3 for 28 in 4 overs including a maiden wicket.

Powerstars Openers Money Singh and Navin Negi started the innings at a very brisk pace and never let the bowlers settle into rhythm from ball one. Sreenivas Seelam joined the chase after 1st wicket and Navin Negi scored scorching boundaries back to back in Ninad’s over to take the score to 35/1 in 3 overs. At the end of the powerplay of 4 overs, Powerstars were 38 for one. Sreenivasa Seelam joined the party with a beautifully crafted lofted drive on the offside to get the boundary of the bowling of the ace spinner Sandeep K.

Runners up: Gladiators

Powerstars kept the runs flowing from both ends before Sreenivas was out for 13. Prashanth Manne, who joined Navin Negi, looked in complete control to bring Powerstars total to 78 for two. In the eleventh over, right after the break, Navin Negi brought up yet another masterful and classy Half Century. After the 10th over break, Powerstars upped the ante and scored at will and won the match by six wickets.

Navin Negi dominated the match from Ball one and has made bowling look very easy. Navin Negi was adjudged Man of the Match for his unbeaten knock of 79 of just 53 balls with seven fours and 1 six.

The MVP of the series was Karthik Vadlamudi, who took a total of 17 wickets and scored 213 runs.

The stats sheet in the playoff showed Powerstars dominance with the top 3 wicket takers. The trio of Dylan Joseph, Kalyan Chivukula, and Karthik Vadlamudi each taking eight wickets a piece to ensure comprehensive victories in the Playoffs.

A special mention to Dinesh Kasliwal for keeping the Gladiators team cohesively and running a successful season and been awarded Runners up Trophy.

The core unit of Karthik Vadlamudi, Prashanth Manne, Rohit Bade, Sreenivasa Seelam, Kalyan Chivukula, and last but not least, the beast alias Ronnie Ronaldson ensured Powerstars had a great and successful season.

Under the able leadership of Karthik Vadlamudi and Kalyan Chivukula, Powerstars has grown from strength to strength and is a force to reckon with.

The game was followed by a well-organized presentation ceremony organized by Jagadish Biradar. Dinesh Kasliwal of Team Gladiators was thanked for voluntary work on scheduling. Karthik Vadlamudi, the captain of Powerstars received the winner’s trophy and the runners up trophy was collected by Emad Babri, counterpart from Gladiators. Other tournament awards were presented to Amit Patel (best batsman with 291 runs), Sajid Khan (best bowler with 16 wickets), Shiva Prasad (best keeper with 23 catches), Jayanth Kalakuntla (best all-rounder with 220 runs and 12 wickets), special century award for Rakesh M Raja, Rushang Shah, Hiren Patel and Swapnil Chandrate, special hat-trick award for Archit Shah and Yesu Seelam. Online scorecard: